Neil Jordan



Address: c/O Casarotto Ramsay & Associates Limited, National House 60-66 Wardour Street, London W1V 4ND, UK.

Telephone: +44 207 287 4480


Film Type: Live Action



Neil Jordan was born in 1950 in Sligo, Ireland. His early career began as a writer. After setting up The Irish Writers’ Cooperative in 1974, he went on to win The Guardian Fiction Prize for his book of short stories Night in Tunisia (1976). Since then he has gone on to publish three novels, The Past (1979), The Dream of a Beast(1983) and most recently Sunrise with Sea Monster (1994). Jordan’s published fiction has been translated into several languages, including French, Spanish, Italian, German, Dutch, Swedish and Japanese.


In 1982 Neil Jordan wrote and directed his first feature film, Angel, for which he won The London Evening Standard’s Most Promising Newcomer Award. The Company of Wolves (1984) was his next film and was honoured with Best Film and Best Director Awards by the London Critics Circle and a Golden Scroll for Outstanding Achievement from The Academy of Science Fiction and Horror Films.


Mona Lisa followed in 1986. It starred Michael Caine, Cathy Tyson and Bob Hoskins, who won the Best Actor Award at The Cannes Film Festival, the Golden Globe Award for Best Actor and received an Academy Award nomination for Best Actor. The film itself was nominated for a Golden Globe Award, a Los Angeles Film Critics Award and a Best Screenplay nomination from The Writers Guild of America. It was also nominated in the categories of Best Film, Best Direction and Best Original Screenplay in the 1986 BAFTAS.

Mona Lisa was followed by two comedies. One, High Spirits (1988), set in Ireland starring Daryl Hannah, Steve Guttenberg and Peter O’Toole, the other, We’re No Angels (1989), his first all-American production, starring Robert De Niro and Sean Penn. He then returned to Ireland to make a much smaller film The Miracle in 1991, which starred Beverly D’Angelo.

In 1992 Jordan wrote and directed The Crying Game which was nominated for six Academy Awards, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor (Stephen Rea), Best Supporting Actor (Jaye Davidson) and which won Jordan an Oscar for Best Original Screenplay. In addition, it was voted Best Foreign Film by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association and Best Screenplay by the New York Film Critics Circle and the Writers Guild of America. It also received the Best Foreign Film Independent Spirit Award and was nominated for a Golden Globe Award for Best Drama and the Mystery of America’s Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Film. In the UK, the film won the BAFTA for Best British Film and was nominated for five other BAFTA Awards including Best Screenplay, Best Actor, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress and Best Editing. Jordan was selected Best Director by the Guild of Regional Film Writers and nominated for Best Screenplay by the Writers Guild of Great Britain. It also received Norway’s award for Best Foreign Film.

In 1994 Jordan returned to the United States to film an adaptation of Anne Rice’s popular novel Interview with the Vampire, starring Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt, Antonio Banderas and Christian Slater. Next came the film of the Irish revolutionary Michael Collins (1996), starring Liam Neeson, Aidan Quinn and Julia Roberts, which won a Golden Lion for best film at the Venice Film Festival. In 1996 Jordan was also awarded the distinction of les Arts et Lettres, as officer in the order, on the occasion of l’Imaginaire Irlandais in France, for his contribution to cinema.


He went on to collaborate with Irish novelist Pat McCabe to adapt his novel The Butcher Boy for the screen in 1997, it won Jordan a Silver Bear award for Best Director at the Berlin Film Festival and newcomer Eamonn Owens received a special mention for his performance in the film.


In 1999 Jordan made the psychological thriller In Dreams, starring Annette Bening, Robert Downey Jr, Aidan Quinn and Stephen Rea. In the same year he went on to direct his own adaptation of Graham Greene’s novel The End of the Affair, starring Ralph Fiennes, Julianne Moore and Stephen Rea. The film was nominated for four Golden Globe Awards, two Academy Awards and ten BAFTA Awards, Jordan was honoured with the BAFTA for the Best Adapted Screenplay.


Jordan soon went on to direct a fourteen minute film based on Samuel Beckett’s play,Not I, which starred Julianne Moore and had its world premiere at the Cannes Film Festival in 2000.


In February 2001 Neil Jordan was the recipient of The Ireland Fund of France Wild Geese Award. In December of the same year he was conferred with the degree of Doctor of Literature (honoris causa) from the The Queen’s University Belfast.

Jordan set up the production company, Company of Wolves with Stephen Woolley through which they have produced, The Actors, directed by Conor McPherson, starring Michael Caine and Dylan Moran, and Intermission, directed by John Crowley, starring Colin Farrell and Colm Meaney.




2006 – Feature – 135min



1997 – Feature – 107min



1994 – Feature – 123min



1994 – Feature – 132min



1992 – Feature – 112min



1990 – Feature – 97min



1987 – Feature – 96min



1986 – Feature – 104min



1984 – Feature – 95min



1982 – Feature – 92min





press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom